Weeding, Watering, and Waiting

Pickling Cucumbers
About two weeks ago, I went into the local nursery near work in a total panic.

Me: “I don’t know what the problem is with my garden! It doesn’t seem to be growing!”
Garden Center Lady: “Well how often do you water?”
Me: “I was every 2-3 days but I’ve cut back to once a week.”
GCL: “Do you have any pests?”
Me: “Mostly ants- I hose the aphids down with soap.”
GCL: “And you said you amended your soil?”
Me: “From scratch, with everything it could possibly need. And it’s still not a huge jungle yet and I don’t know what I’m doing wrong!!!”
GCL: “Hmmmm… well, when did you plant?”
Me: “I don’t know, maybe end of June? So what’s my problem?”
GCL: “Well… it sounds to me like your problem is… that you’re impatient.”

Yeah… anyway… it’s really hard to believe that it has been nearly a month since my last post. I’ve had a few projects here and there in and around the garden, but in all honesty, it’s been mostly weeding, watering, and waiting. And it’s a strange thing, planting your edible crops so late in the season. You see heirloom tomatoes and summer squash littering the tables at the farmer’s market, and come home to stare down your own hardly doubled in size vines that aren’t even close to setting fruit, wondering what you’re doing wrong (when subconsciously you probably know the answer.)

Luckily, I’m finally getting a little light at the end of the tunnel here, and a miniature harvest to boot:
First Cherry Tomatoes Ripening
Yellow Pear Heirloom Tomatoes
A Few Long Beans
Serrano Chilies
More Zucchini

Don’t get me wrong though- the wait hasn’t been all bad. At least I had my cottage garden out the kitchen door to keep my plates occupied with greens and vases full of flowers:

Lettuce Garden

P.S. I had no idea that lettuce grew so insanely fast. (I’m also at the point where I feel ridiculous paying for salad anywhere I go, as it freely grows in my backyard now for around ten cents a square foot.)

Some of the more recent projects to come in the next day or two- stay tuned!

About Veronica Flores

Going big or going home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weeding, Watering, and Waiting

  1. JC MacMillan says:

    Amazing! Can you please come up with a way for me to start a garden whilst changing hotels every week? I want in the gardening club!

Leave a Reply

