You Win Some, You Lose Some

Ever wonder what happens when you plant something in a cast iron tub that only has one drain hole and then it gets watered a little too much? Yeah… I’ve never wondered that either. But today I was privileged enough to find out:

Potatoes- 1, Veronica- 0

Answer? It basically becomes one giant waterlogged rotting smelly mess that can only be cured with sunlight, a bucket, and more cowbell. It’s only too bad I wasn’t growing rice in the tub; I’m sure it would’ve fared a bit better given the slop-like conditions.

In other news, I picked my first batch of cucumbers today:

Mini-Harvest

Apparently I planted two types of these puppies, but totally forgot until today. The smaller bumpier cukes on the left and right sides of the photo have a slightly bitter yet firm flesh with crisp skin, while the larger one in the center is of the usual mellow creamier flavored variety with a thinner skin that most people are probably used to.

Unfortunately, I’ve been eating Armenian cukes since they hit the grocery store in full bloom a few weeks ago, so I’m a little burnt out on chopped salads and tzatziki… but I couldn’t let these bad boys go to waste! What to do, what to do???

The answer?

Icebox Pickles

Garlicky delicious icebox pickles! Really super easy- just chop some cukes, throw them in a jar, and add whatever floats your boat. They stay good in the fridge for at least a week or two- you can even cheat and use an empty pickle jar with the brine still in it, or pickled jalapeno leftovers, or… well, you get the idea. This time around I did fresh dill, bay leaves, garlic, vinegar, water, chili flakes, a pinch of sea salt, and steak seasoning (cause I don’t have any pickling spices right now and they’re almost the same thing… right? Sort of?)

P.S. Potatoes: Round 2 coming at you later this week!!!

What- you didn’t think I’d give up that easily, did ya? 😉
About Veronica Flores

Going big or going home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

