A Year Already?

it’s crazy to think that it’s been just about a year since I started growing at my place, but time flies when you’re having fun I suppose. I took this picture a week or two ago, and need to update as everything is growing so quickly, but thought it made for good juxtaposition considering where I started (as in the main blog image of me standing overwhelmed in my soon to be garden.)

So what have I learned so far?
-Stake your tomatoes more than you think they’ll ever need (or they will consume your walkways.)
-Plant later than you want to; I managed to avoid all cases of blight (knock on wood) by waiting until the true rains were past.
-Sowing lettuce on or around the full moon works. Science can’t explain this one so well, but the proof is in the pudding, and that pudding is a few varieties that never germinated until I moon planted, so there you have it.
-Grow strange, unusual varieties you can’t find at the store. You will appreciate them more, and may even have better luck with them than you would conventional crops.
-Growing organic isn’t always easy, but it’s worth it, for taste, texture, and peace of mind.

Here’s to another exciting year of trials and tribulations in the garden! I have a feeling this year is going to be even better than the last. 🙂

About Veronica Flores

Going big or going home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

